The Oregon Bee Project’s success depends on multiple levels of collaborators and supporters. In order for this project to truly make an impact, state partners work alongside Oregonians in every region of the state.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is responsible for the day-to-day planning & operation of Oregon Bee Project programs and coordinating with partners. The Steering Committee is primarily made up of state agency representatives from OSU, ODA, and ODF. Steering Committee members are experts in the fields of pollinator health, honey bees and native bees, ecology, pesticides, land management, and public policy. The current Steering Committee consists of:

Oregon State University (Andony Melathopoulos)
Oregon Department of Agriculture (Sarah Kincaid and Gilbert Uribe)
Oregon Department of Forestry (Christine Buhl)

Advisory Committee

Members of the Advisory Committee support the development of the Oregon Bee Project by providing feedback and expertise. The Advisory Committee is comprised of diverse representatives including: pollinator health experts, both national and regional; industry groups; and land management experts such as farmers, Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCD); and conservation groups. The current Advisory Committee consists of:

GloryBee (Alan Turanski)
Golf Course Superintendent Association of America (Oregon Chapter) (David Phipps)
Kenagy Family Farm (Peter Kenagy, Albany)
Linn County Master Gardeners (Rich Little)
Natural Resources Conservation Service (Kathy Pendergrass)
Northwest Center for Alternatives to Pesticides (Sharon Selvaggio)
O’Loughlin Farm (Michael O’Loughlin, McMinniville)
Oregon Department of Agriculture (Clint Burfitt, Rose Kachadoorian, Helmuth Rogg)
Oregon Association of Nurseries (Jeff Stone)  
Oregon Cover and Oregon Blueberry Commission (Bryan Ostland)
Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) (Christine Buhl)
Oregon Department of Transport (ODOT) (Robert Marshall)
Oregon Farm Bureau (Jenny Dressler)
Oregon Flora Project (Linda Hardison)
Oregon Forest and Industries Council (Seth Barnes)
Oregonians for Food and Shelter (Scott Dahlman)
Oregon Legislature (Rep. Jeff Reardon)
Oregon Master Gardeners (Rich Little)
Oregon State Beekeepers Association (Harry Vanderpool)
Oregon State University, College of Forestry (Jim Rivers)
Oregon State University Extension (Kristine Buckland, Rodrigo Corona, Weston Miller, Ramesh Sagili)
Northwest Berry Foundation (Tom Peerbolt)
US Fish and Wildlife Service (Eric Hein)
West Multnomah Soil and Water Conservation District (Jim Cathcart and Laura Taylor) 
Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation (Mace Vaughan)

Regional Leadership Teams

Long-term success of the Oregon Bee Project demands regional leadership to represent local priorities, carry forward local projects, and create a robust network across the state. Regional leadership will consist of diverse representatives including OSU Extension, growers, researchers, SWCDs, and community volunteers. Regional Teams will represent the unique challenges around the state and will be situated, at a minimum, in the Willamette Valley, the Coast, Central, Southern, and Eastern Oregon. The role of Regional Teams will be to share information, coordinate public and educational events, identify farms with innovative practices, report on research and local efforts, attend and provide feedback on the OBP’s program and progress, and report to the Advisory Committee.